NM State Men's Golf Wins Fourth Straight WAC Championship
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  05/04/2011

HENDERSON, NEV. -- The New Mexico State men's golf team won its fifth WAC Golf Championship in six years, Wednesday afternoon at the Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. The Aggies defended its 2010 Championship with a three round score of 11-over par, 875 (289-295-291). NM State carded a final round score of 3-over par, 291.

This is the fourth straight WAC title for the Aggies, as four NM State players finished in the top-10.

"I'm not too concerned that this is our fourth straight title but I'm extremely happy for this team in particular," head coach Scott Lieberwirth said.  "Although this is a wonderful achievement for the program I thought this team finished out this tournament like true champions. I'm happy for Tim (Madigan) that he can finish up his career by being part of four conference championship teams. We didn't score anything worse than a 76 this week and I think that speaks to the depth of this team. I'm so proud of this group and the way they competed."

Senior Tim Madigan earned first team all-WAC honors and WAC Player of the Year both for the second straight year as teammate junior Gaston De La Torre was picked as a second team all-WAC selection for the second straight year as well. Head Coach Scott Lieberwirth was named WAC Coach of the Year, taking the honor for the fourth time.  

De La Torre led the Aggies with a fourth-place finish overall carding a three round score of 1-under par, 215. He fired a 2-under par, 70 in the final round, recording seven birdies. This is De La Torre's second top-10 finish at a WAC Championship.

Sophomore Justin Shin carded a final round score of 2-over par, 74, finishing the tournament at 2-over par, 218, placing fifth overall. Shin collected three birdies in the final round. Madigan had a solid final round for the Aggies, grabbing his fourth WAC title in four years. Madigan recorded an even-par, 72, as he placed sixth overall for the tournament with a three-round score of 3-over par, 219. He tallied one birdie and two eagles in his final round.

Junior Joon Lee finished his first WAC Championship at 8-over par, 224, carding a final round score of 4-over par, 76. Lee placed tied for ninth overall after recording a final round that saw three birdies, two of those birdies on 17 and 18. Junior Zachery Fullerton carded a 3-over par, 75 in the final round. Fullerton placed 12th overall with a three-round score of 9-over par, 225. He recorded two birdies in his final round.

Following NM State in the team scoring was San Jose State (+24), Fresno State (+25), Louisiana Tech (+37), Idaho (+37), Nevada (+49), Boise State (+57), Hawai'i (+57) and Utah State (+86). San Jose State's Mark Hubbard parred the third sudden death playoff hole to defeat Idaho's Damian Telles for the WAC individual championship. Both finished at 4-under 212.

NM State now moves on to the NCAA Regional Tournament on May 19-21. The Aggies will find out where they will be competing next Monday, May 9th.

2010-11 Awards
First Team All-WAC

Tim Madigan, Sr., New Mexico State
Bhavik Patel, Jr., Fresno State
Scott Smith, Sr., Nevada
Mark Hubbard, Sr., San Jose State
Damian Telles, So., Idaho

Second Team All-WAC
Jay Myers, Jr., San Jose State
Gaston De La Torre, Jr., New Mexico State
Jarred Bossio, Jr., Idaho
Clinton Shepard, Sr., Louisiana Tech
Kevin Lucas, Jr., Nevada

Player of the Year: Tim Madigan, Sr., New Mexico State
Freshman of the Year: Jack Lempke, Louisiana Tech
Coach of the Year: Scott Lieberwirth, New Mexico State

‹ New Mexico State Men's Golf

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries