NM State Men's Golf Ready for 2011 WAC Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  04/27/2011

LAS CRUCES, N.M. -- The NM State men's golf team will head to Henderson, Nev., for the 2011 WAC Golf Championships, May 2-4 at the par 72, 7,332 yard, Rio Secco Golf Club as the Aggies look to defend their 2010 WAC Championship.

"We are coming off a very good tournament in San Jose and I think the moral of this team has been about as good as it's been all year," head coach Scott Lieberwirth said. "We had some guys struggle at the beginning of the spring schedule but have seemed to break out of that slump. I can see that we are hungry and are ready to play some golf. As far as defending the championship we aren't worried about that. We are trying to win this tournament for the sake of winning a golf tournament. What we have accomplished in the past is something we are very proud of for the program, but we are looking to win this tournament for this team and not live up to any legacy over the past few years."

Senior Tim Madigan, junior Gaston De La Torre, junior Joon Lee, junior Zachery Fullerton and sophomore Justin Shin will represent the Aggies at this year's championship. Between the five golfers they have 13 top-10 finishes and 17 top-20 finishes this season, while Madigan, Shin and De La Torre were members of the 2010 WAC Championship team.

The Aggies will line-up against San Jose State and Idaho in the first round, with tee times set for 8:20 a.m.

Last year the New Mexico State men's golf team won its fourth WAC Golf Championship in five years, at the Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. The Aggies defeated Nevada by seven strokes with a three round score of 13-over par, 870 (283-274-294). NM State carded a final round score of 6-over par, 294.

Madigan earned first team all-WAC honors and WAC Player of the Year as teammates Justin Shin and  De La Torre was picked as a second team all-WAC selections. Shin was also named the WAC Freshman of the Year, an honor that Madigan won back in 2008.

Madigan won the 2010 WAC Championships individual title with a three round score of 14-under par, 202 (64-68-70). He carded a final round score of 2-under par, 70. The next closes player in the field was Mark Hubbard of San Jose State and Scott Smith of Nevada at 6-under par.

Shin fired a second round score of 1-over par, 73, finishing tied for fourth overall with a three round score of 3-under par, 213 (71-69-73). De La Torre struggled in round three carding a 15-over par, 87. He finished tied for 28th overall at 11-over par, 227 (72-68-87).

Senior Ryan Word finished the championship at 4-over par, 220 (76-69-75), tying for 16th overall. In his final round of play, Word shot a 3-over par, 75. Freshman Justin Knauber fired a 4-over par, 76 in the final round, placing him tied for 28th overall with a three round score of 11-over par, 227 (78-73-76).

Following NM State in the team scoring was Nevada (-4), San Jose State (-4), Idaho (+11), Louisiana Tech (+12), Fresno State (+14), Boise State (+40), Utah State (+46) and Hawai'i (+54).

Results will be available at www.golfstat.com.

‹ New Mexico State Men's Golf

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries