Courtney Schultz Wins WAC Again; Men Finish Second
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  10/31/2010

MOSCOW, IDAHO- Courtney Schultz took home the Western Athletic Conference individual cross country title, was named the women's WAC Athlete of the Year, and also garnered first team All-WAC honors all for the second year in a row.

Schultz finished hand in hand with her sister Camille Schultz who finished in second, and was also named first team All-WAC. The sisters finished with times of 17:37.24 and 17:37.35 respectively.

Also finishing in the top ten in the women's 5K race for the Aggies was sophomore Chelsa McDonnell. McDonnell placed seventh with a time of 18:02.37 and was also named first team All-WAC.

"Courtney, Camille and Chelsa all ran fantastic," assistant coach Paul Harkins said. "We need to work on our four and five runners, but we'll have them all back for next year when we hope to get back on top."

The Aggie women four and five runners were Madelyn Stoltze and Samantha Hamilton. Stoltze finished in 32nd with a time of 18:52.43 while Hamilton finished in 33rd with a time of 18:55.06.

Overall the Aggie women finished with 75 points which was good enough for third behind Utah State University (69), and the University of Idaho, who won the women's team title with 48 points.

On the NM State men's side it was Kevin Palmer leading the way, finishing in seventh place in the men's 8K with a time of 25:09.36 and named first team All-WAC.

Following behind Palmer was Anthony Ellis who finished 11th with a time of 25:17.12 and was named second team All-WAC.

Rounding out the top five runners for the Aggie men were Jonah Ruybalid (15th, 25:29.22), Robert Selph (16th, 25:33.26), and Kevin Taft (17th, 25:34.09).

"The men ran extremely tough, I couldn't be happier with their performance," Harkins said. "The pack was awesome today and I think if the course was 200m longer we would have won."

The men finished second overall, a two spot improvement from last year and their highest finish ever at the WAC Championships. The men's race was won by Olivier Collin from Fresno State University with a time of 24:34.2. The men's team title went to Boise State University with 57 total points which was only nine points better than the Aggies.

"With everyone coming back next year the men are already looking for a big day next fall in Hawaii," Harkins said. "The coaching staff are extremely proud of both squads."

The NM State cross country squads will compete again in two weeks on Nov. 13, in Salt Lake City, Utah at the NCAA Mountain Regional beginning at 10:30 a.m. (MT).

‹ New Mexico State Cross Country

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries