Cambra Named Second Team All-WAC
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  11/05/2013

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – New Mexico State junior forward Jennae Cambra was named to the All-Western Athletic Conference second team following the conclusion of Aggie soccer’s regular season, the conference office announced Tuesday.

Cambra, a Morgan Hill, Calif., native started 11 games for the Aggies on the front line and played in 19. She ended the year with four goals after an outstanding 19 shots on goal, which was good for second on the team. She also had two assists on the year and a total of 31 shots. She helped the Aggies force a conference-leading nine overtime games and aided in the Aggies five season wins. Starting all but one conference match, Cambra had both goals in NM State’s tie with Utah Valley in mid-October and one in a double overtime loss to Bakersfield. She had a season high five shots against Utah Valley in that tied game and had five in the Aggies season-ending win over Bakersfield on Nov. 3.

“I am very proud of Jennae (Cambra) for how she played in the conference portion of the season. It is a great honor for her and for the team,” head coach Blair Quinn said. “She was particularly good and dangerous for us in the second half of the season and I know other teams picked up on that and she was in their scouting reports as somebody to keep an eye on.”

Regular season conference winner Seattle U saw four players on the first team and four on the second team. The Redhawks also claimed the Offensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards.

The 2013 edition of the WAC Tournament is hosted by NM State and is set for Nov. 8 through 10 in Las Cruces, N.M. Game one is set for 11:30 a.m. and features No. 1 Seattle U and No. 4 Idaho.



First Team All-WAC                                        Second Team All-WAC

Natalie Baker, Sr., F, Utah Valley                  Jennae Cambra, Jr., F, New Mexico State

Taylor Bare, Sr., F, Kansas City                    Hedda Regefalk, Fr, F, Bakersfield

Stephanie Verdoia, Jr., F, Seattle U          Taylor Ritzman, Jr., F, Seattle U

Julia Besagno, Sr., MF, Seattle U              Ava Ames, Sr., MF, Seattle U

Haley Curtis, Sr., MF, Utah Valley              Alyssa Elver, Jr., MF, Kansas City

Erica Shelton, Sr., MF, Bakersfield            Natasha Howe, Fr., MF, Seattle U

Chelsie Breen, Sr., D, Idaho                      Kat Prati, Sr., MF, Seattle U

Lexi Dunn, Sr., D, Utah Valley                     Sarah Cook, Jr., D, Bakersfield

Monique Escalera, Sr., D, Seattle U          Kaely Tott, Jr., D, Kansas City

Mary Hill, Sr., D, Seattle U                            Nitalia Zuniga, Sr., D, Idaho

Lauren Sack, Sr., GK, Utah Valley              Brianna Smallidge, So., GK, Seattle U


Offensive Player of the Year: Stephanie Verdoia, Jr., F, Seattle U

Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Sack, Sr., GK, Utah Valley

Freshman of the Year: Hedda Regefalk, Fr, F, Bakersfield

Coach of the Year: Julie Woodward, Seattle U

‹ New Mexico State Soccer

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries