Mullings Named AP All-American After Successful 2013-14 Season
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  03/31/2014

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – New Mexico State junior guard Daniel Mullings was named an Associated Press All-American, Monday, March 31 as announced by the associated press.

An honorable mention selection, Mullings averaged 16.8 points per game during the Aggies’ 26-10 season.  The 2014 Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year played and started in 35-of-36 NM State’s games this season and finished the year tied with a WAC-high 65 steals. Mullings shot 46.6 percent from the field this season and was fifth in the league in assists, dishing out 3.51 assists per game and finishing with 123 on the year, which was the most on the team.

“This is such an honor and it is very humbling for me,” Mullings said.  “I owe so much to my teammates as our success this season was a total team effort.”

Mullings wraps up his junior year with 588 points to bring his career total to 1,405 points.  He is now 12th on the all-time scoring list at NM State, just behind Ernest Patterson, who scored 1,419 points from 1980-83.  Mullings’ 65 steals on the season placed him fifth in the Aggie record books for steals in a single-season and he is third on the career list with 202 steals since his freshman year.

He was also named to the WAC all-tournament team, a first team All-WAC selection and a WAC all-defensive team honoree. Mullings earned four WAC Player of the Week honors this season including one on Jan. 26 after he posted a career-high 32 points in a 90-78 win over Texas-Pan American.

Mullings is the first player to be named to an All-American team since former Aggie great James Moore was named an AP All-American (honorable mention) in 2003. The first ever All-American at NM State was Charlie Criss in 1969.

2013-14 AP All-America teams (Statistics through March 16)

First team

Doug McDermott, Creighton, 6-8, 225, senior, Ames, Iowa, 26.9 ppg, 7.0 rpg, 52.5 fg pct, 45.4 3-pt fg pct, 86.6 ft pct (65 first-team votes, 325 total points).

Jabari Parker, Duke, 6-8, 235, freshman, Chicago, 19.3 ppg, 8.8 rpg (55, 303).

Russ Smith, Louisville, 6-0, 165, senior, Brooklyn, N.Y., 18.3 ppg, 3.4 rpg, 4.7 apg, 40.5 3-pt fg pct, 2.1 steals (54, 298).

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut, 6-1, 180, senior, Roxbury, Mass., 17.4 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 4.9 apg, 85.9 ft pct, 1.7 steals (37, 254).

Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, 6-4, 210, senior, Yonkers, N.Y., 20.7 ppg, 4.4 rpg, 2.6 apg, 84.7 ft pct (37, 243).

Second team

Nick Johnson, Arizona, 6-3, 200, junior, Gilbert, Ariz., 16.2 ppg, 4.0 rpg, 2.8 apg, (30, 228).

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, 6-8, 200, freshman, Vaughan, Ontario, 17.4 ppg, 6.0 rpg (14, 199).

Nik Stauskas, Michigan, 6-6, 205, sophomore, Mississauga, Ontario, 17.5 ppg, 3.1 rpg, 3.3 apg, 44.9 3-pt fg pct, 82.0 ft pct, (5, 128).

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State, 6-6, 220, senior, Toronto, 18.1 ppg, 8.5 rpg, 1.8 apg, 50.6 fg pct, (8, 127).

T.J. Warren, N.C. State, 6-8, 215, sophomore, Durham, N.C., 24.8 ppg, 7.1 rpg, 52.5 fg pct, 35.2 minutes, 1.8 steals, (7, 110).

Third team

Cleanthony Early, Wichita State, 6-8, 219, senior, Middletown, N.Y., 15.8 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 2.0 apg, 84.4 ft pct (3, 104).

Kyle Anderson, UCLA, 6-9, 230, sophomore, Fairview, N.J., 14.9 ppg, 8.8 rpg, 6.6 apg, 48.1 3pt fg pct, 1.8 steals (84).

Julius Randle, Kentucky, 6-9, 250, freshman, Dallas, 15.0 ppg, 10.5 rpg, 50.2 fg pct (81).

C.J. Fair, Syracuse, 6-8, 215, senior, Baltimore, 16.7 ppg, 6.2 rpg (3, 65).

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, 6-2, 176, senior, Gainesville, Fla., 13.0 ppg, 2.6 rpg, 3.8 apg, 40.0 3-pt fg pct, 1.7 steals (3, 59).

Honorable mention (in alphabetical order)

Karvel Anderson, Robert Morris; Cameron Ayers, Bucknell; Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico; Billy Baron, Canisius; Jerrelle Benimon, Towson; Taylor Braun, North Dakota State; De’Mon Brooks, Davidson; John Brown, High Point; Bryce Cotton, Providence; Joel Embiid, Kansas; Tyler Ennis, Syracuse; Aaron Gordon, Arizona; Langston Hall, Mercer; Gary Harris, Michigan State; Tyler Haws, BYU; R.J. Hunter, Georgia State; Jordair Jett, Saint Louis; Shawn Jones, Middle Tennessee; DeAndre Kane, Iowa State (1 first-team vote); J.J. Mann, Belmont; Javon McCrea, Buffalo; Daniel Mullings, New Mexico State; Aaric Murray, Texas Southern; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; Jacob Parker, Stephen F. Austin; Lamar Patterson, Pittsburgh; Adreian Payne, Michigan State (1); Casey Prather, Florida; Wesley Saunders, Harvard; Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State (1); Juwan Staten, West Virginia; Keifer Sykes, Green Bay; Xavier Thames, San Diego State; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State (1); Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Davion Weber, Weber State; Alan Williams, UC Santa Barbara; Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State; Patric Young, Florida.

‹ New Mexico State Men's Basketball

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries