Four NM State Menís Basketball Student-Athletes Earn All-WAC Honors
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  03/09/2014

DENVER – Junior guard Daniel Mullings has been named Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year, while three other New Mexico State men’s basketball players earned All-WAC honors as the postseason awards were announced, Sunday, March 9 by the league office.  The award winners were selected by the league’s nine head coaches.

Mullings, who was also named to the All-WAC first team and the WAC All-Defensive team, averaged 17.0 points, 6.4 rebounds and 3.3 assists, while he was also tied for second in the league in steals with 2.0 per game. He finished the WAC regular season with 32 steals and has a total of 59 during the 2013-14 season.  Mullings is the first NM State player in school history to be named the WAC’s Player of the Year and is the first WAC player to be named Preseason Player of the Year and Player of the Year during the same season since Nevada’s Deonte Burton in 2011-12.

“I'm extremely pleased that Daniel was voted the WAC player of the year. His contribution across the stat sheet was evident of his value to us and obviously the other coaches in the league felt the same way,” said head coach Marvin Menzies.  “There's so much more than just putting points on the board to be a complete player and Daniel has had a fantastic year in showing his versatility.”

Junior center/forward Tshilidzi Nephawe earned second team All-WAC honors after averaging 8.8 rebounds (third in league) per game and finishing with a 56.4 field goal shooting percentage (second in league) during conference play.  Nephawe also led the league in blocked shots with 2.38 per game.

Sophomore center Sim Bhullar, who was named to the All-Defensive team, did not play in enough league games to be ranked in blocked shots during WAC play.  Bhullar, although, averaged 3.50 blocks per game throughout the entire season leading the WAC and tallied 2.37 per game during conference games.

“I would also like to commend our other players who received various acknowledgments-Tshilidzi, DK, and Sim also were very deserving of their accolades,” Menzies said.  “With team-success comes individual recognition I’m happy for all the guys but now it’s time to focus on Thursday and Seattle U.”

Junior guard DK Eldridge was named to the All-Newcomer team after finishing league play with a 46.2 field goal percentage while posting 11.6 points per game. He also grabbed 4.9 board per game and averaged 27 minutes per game. During WAC play, Eldridge tallied 38 assists, five blocks and six steal.

The Aggies are the No. 2 seed in the 2014 WAC Tournament and will face Seattle U, Thursday, March 13 at 9:30 p.m. (MT) in The Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev.

The complete all-WAC teams follow.

2013-14 WAC Men’s Basketball Postseason Award Winners


First Team

Killian Larson, Sr., C, Grand Canyon

Stephen Madison, Sr., F, Idaho

Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State

Ben Aird, Sr., C, Utah Valley

Holton Hunsaker, Sr., G, Utah Valley

Second Team

Issiah Grayson, Sr., G, Bakersfield

Quinton Pippen, Sr., G/F, Chicago State

Jerome Garrison, Jr., G, Grand Canyon

Tshilidzi Nephawe, Jr., C, New Mexico State

Isiah Umipig, Jr., G, Seattle U

Player of the Year: Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State

Freshman of the Year: Martez Harrison, Fr., G, Kansas City

Don Haskins Coach of the Year: Dick Hunsaker, Utah Valley

All-Defensive Team

Aly Ahmed, Jr., C, Bakersfield

Jerome Garrison, Jr., G, Grand Canyon

Sim Bhullar, So., C, New Mexico State

Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State

Mitch Bruneel, Jr., F, Utah Valley

All-Newcomer Team

Daniel Alexander, Jr., F, Grand Canyon

Martez Harrison, Fr., G, Kansas City

DK Eldridge, Jr., G, New Mexico State

Isiah Umipig, Jr., G, Seattle U

Zach Nelson, Fr., F, Utah Valley

‹ New Mexico State Men's Basketball

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries