Senior Desiree Scott Named WAC Player of the Year and Jordan Named Coach of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  11/24/2013

PHOENIX, Ariz. – The Western Athletic Conference office announced on Sunday afternoon that New Mexico State senior middle hitter Desiree Scott was selected as the WAC Player of the Year and head coach Mike Jordan was named WAC Coach of the Year.  In addition sophomore Gwen Murphy earned first team honors.

Six of the nine schools were represented on the postseason teams that were selected by the league’s head coaches. Bakersfield and Utah Valley had two players each on the first team and one apiece on the second team. The top-seeded Aggies had two players on the first team.

“I’m really happy for both Desiree and Gwen and they are well deserved honors,” Jordan said. “We knew when we recruited Desiree that she could be this caliber of player. She is one of the most difficult players to stop on any given night.  With Gwen, we could see this coming in the off season because she was improving and started more confidence. I believe she made her own case for player of the year with the numbers she was putting up.”

After a 14-2 conference season that led to a 2013 league title, Jordan earned his fourth WAC Coach of the Year honor (2005, 2006, 2008, 2013). 

Scott earned WAC Player of the Year and first team All-WAC honors after ranking second in the conference during WAC matches in blocks (1.38), third in hitting percentage (.401), fifth in points (3.69) and ninth in kills (2.78). She hit .300 or better in 11 of 16 league matches. In the most recent NCAA statistics report, Scott ranks 40th nationally in blocks per set (1.29).

Murphy, a sophomore who earned the first All-WAC honor of her career, led the league in hitting percentage (.470) and was third in blocks (1.38/set).  She had a nice match at Idaho on Oct. 31 when she hit an efficient .632 with a career-high 13 kills on 19 attempts to help lead NM State to another conference win.  Murphy was also in on 10 blocks in the win over Kansas City, Nov. 7, with six of those blocks being solo.

“As far as middle hitters go, I put them (Murphy and Scott) up there with the best we have ever had,” Jordan said.

The two accounted for 505 kills during the season while posting a combined 249 total blocks.

Jordan and his No. 1 seeded team take on the winner of No. 4 Idaho and No. 5 Kansas City on Tuesday, Nov. 26 at 7:30 p.m. (MT) in Phoenix, Ariz. The match will be broadcast over the radio on KSNM AM 570 with Jay Sanderson giving the play-by-play.

2013 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners

First Team                     School                         Yr.           Pos.         Hometown (Previous School)

Debora Araujo              Bakersfield                 Sr.           OH           Belo Horizonte, Brazil (Western Nebraska CC)

Fernanda Gonçalves    Bakersfield                 Sr.           S              Belo Horizonte, Brazil (Western Nebraska CC)

Gwen Murphy               New Mexico State     So.           MH          Elfrida, Ariz. (Valley Union)

Alyssa Schultz                Idaho                           Jr.            MB          Issaquah, Wash. (Issaquah)

Desiree Scott                New Mexico State     Sr.           MH          Tucson, Ariz. (Catalina Foothills)

Lauren Stringham         Utah Valley                 So.           MB          Kaysville, Utah (Davis)

McKenna Tait                Utah Valley                 Jr.            L              South Jordan, Utah (Bingham)

Second Team                School                         Yr.           Pos.         Hometown (Previous School)

Sydney Crimmins          Kansas City                 So.           RS            Clay Center, Kan. (Clay Center Community)

Brookelyn Hall              Utah Valley                 Sr.           S              Gilbert, Ariz. (Mesquite)

Iris Ivanis                        Seattle U                     Fr.           OH           Pozega, Croatia (Pozega)

Taryn Miller                   Kansas City                 So.           L              Blue Springs, Mo. (Blue Springs)

Molly O’Hagan              Bakersfield                 Jr.            MB          Tonganoxie, Kan. (Tonganoxie)

Martina Samadan         Seattle U                     So.           MB          Split, Croatia (Virginia Commonwealth)

Taylor Wilkinson           Idaho                           Sr.           MB          Pocatello, Idaho (College of Southern Idaho)

All-Freshmen Team     School                         Pos.        Hometown (Previous School)

Kaylyn Brandt                Kansas City                 S              Sumner, Iowa (Sumner-Fredericksburg)

Ali Forde                        Idaho                           OH          Woodinville, Wash. (Woodinville)

Iris Ivanis                        Seattle U                     OH          Pozega, Croatia (Pozega)

Kerry Lane                     Seattle U                     S              Tucson, Ariz. (Canyon del Oro)

Alisha Watson               Texas-Pan American RS            Round Rock, Texas (Round Rock)

Nakisha Willden            Utah Valley                OH          South Jordan, Utah (Bingham)

WAC Player of the Year: Desiree Scott, New Mexico State

WAC Freshman of the Year: Iris Ivanis, Seattle U

WAC Coach of the Year: Mike Jordan, New Mexico State


‹ New Mexico State Volleyball

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries