Three Aggies Earn All-WAC Honors
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  11/18/2012

SAN ANTONIO, Texas - Three New Mexico State volleyball players earned 2012 Western Athletic Conference post-season awards, as selected by the league's head coaches, during the WAC Tournament banquet, Sunday, Nov. 18.

Sophomore outside hitter Meredith Hays joined junior middle hitter Desiree Scott on the All-WAC first team, while junior outside hitter Lauren Loerch was named to the second team.  Head coach Mike Jordan is proud of the selections and knows that each of the players are deserving of the awards.

"They have each done a lot for us this year," Jordan said. "Although, I am sure they would trade in those awards for a WAC championship.  Our team goal is to win this tournament and I know they are excited to get out there and play and to lead the team."

Hays finished the WAC regular season with 248 kills (3.65/set), 12 service aces and 164 digs (2.41/set).  Scott led the league with a .420 hitting percentage while putting down 169 kills (2.49/set) and 93 total blocks (1.37/set). Second team selection Loerch posted 186 kills during league play and scored 207.5 points throughout the 2012 conference season.

UTSA junior outside hitter McKenzie Adams was named WAC Player of the Year, while teammate Annie Kunes was named Libero of the Year. Utah State's Elle Brainard captured Freshman of the Year honors, while head coach Grayson DuBose was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Nine of the 10 schools were represented on the teams, led by top-seeded Utah State with four players on the first team and two on the second team. No. 3 seed UTSA had one player on the first team and three on the second team, while Idaho and New Mexico State both had two first-team selections and one second-team pick.

The Aggies are the No. 4 seed in the WAC Tournament and face No. 5 seed Denver, Monday, Nov. 20 at 4 p.m. (MT) in San Antonio, Texas.  Live stats will be available online at www.NMStateSports.com  and a Twitter feed with score updates will also be available @NMStateAggies.

First Team
McKenzie Adams, UTSA
Allison (Walker) Baker, Idaho
Meredith Hays, New Mexico State
Colleen King, Denver
Faimie Kingsley, Denver
Paige Neves, Utah State
Mary Alice O'Reilly, San Jose State
Rachel Orr, Utah State
Alyssa Schultz, Idaho
Desiree Scott, New Mexico State
Shay Sorensen, Utah State
Josselyn White, Utah State

Second Team
Elle Brainard, Utah State
Amari Deardorff, Texas State
Kaytlyn Dill, Seattle U
Taylor Gross, UT Arlington
Ashlee Hilbun, Texas State
Brandy Huskey, UTSA
Annie Kunes, UTSA
Michaela Leonard, San Jose State
Lauren Loerch, New Mexico State
Alex Sele, Idaho
Kaitlyn Van Hoff, Utah State
Whitney Walls, UTSA

All-Freshmen Team
Elle Brainard, Utah State
Annie Kunes, UTSA
Michaela Leonard, San Jose State
Katelyn Peterson, Idaho
Kylie Schott, UTSA
Michele Swope, Denver

WAC Player of the Year:
McKenzie Adams, UTSA
WAC Libero of the Year: Annie Kunes, UTSA
WAC Freshman of the Year: Elle Brainard, Utah State
WAC Coach of the Year: Grayson DuBose, Utah State

‹ New Mexico State Volleyball

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries