Franklin Named to Biletnikoff Preseason Watch List
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  07/16/2013

LAS CRUCES, N.M.(July 16) – New Mexico State junior wide receiver Austin Franklin has been named to the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List as announced by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., which recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Franklin started all 12 games for the Aggies at wide receiver and as a returner on kickoffs and punts in the 2012 season.  Franklin led the team with 74 receptions, 1,245 yards receiving, 16.8 yards per reception, nine touchdowns and 103.8 receiving yards per game.  Franklin also led the team in all-purpose yards with 1,627 yards total and averaged 135.6 total yards per game.  He set a career-high in receptions in a game with nine catches for 115 yards against Idaho (Oct. 6).  Franklin would go over 100 yards receiving in four other games.  He went for 107 yards against New Mexico (Sep. 22), 105 yards against UTSA (Sep. 29), 139 yards against Louisiana Tech (Oct. 27) and 154 yards against Auburn (Nov. 3).  He was a semifinalist for the 2012 Biletnikoff Award and received first team All-WAC accolades and was named an SI.com Honorable Mention All-American.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. The TQC Foundation created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994 and has been awarded to college receivers including Marqise Lee, Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

"The 2013 Biletnikoff Award Pre-season Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in the award's history, consistent with the escalating importance of the passing game in college football,” Foundation Selection Committee Co-Chairman and Founding Trustee Walter Manley, II, said.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 18, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 25. The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. 

‹ New Mexico State Football

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries