Eleven Aggies Earn Preseason Honors from Phil Steele
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  05/23/2013


Cleveland, Ohio - The New Mexico State football team landed 11 players on the Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-Independent Team as announced by Phil Steele, Thursday morning. The Aggies had four offensive players including two offensive linemen on the list, while the defense grabbed six awards as well. Special teams were not overlooked as two Aggies were recognized.

Junior Austin Franklin was named a first team selection at wide receiver and was the only Aggie to be named to the first team for the offense. Offensive tackle Davonte Wallace earned second team honors, while running back Germi Morrison and offensive guard Andy Cunningham and were named a third team picks.

Defensively, Trashaun Nixon earned first team honors at linebacker, while defensive lineman Willie Mobley, safety Davis Cazares and linebacker Bryan Bonilla garnered second team honors. Defensive lineman Matt Ramondo and safety George Callender earned a spot on the third team list.

Punter was selected as a second team member, while Franklin earned a place on the third team as a kick returner.

Phil Steele's College Football Preview is the nation's most informative preseason football magazine and has always provided a preseason All-American team as well as preseason all-conference teams. For more information or to obtain a copy of each of the all-conference teams, please visit PhilSteele.com

‹ New Mexico State Football

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries