Courtesy: J and L Photo
Fisher Named a Semifinalist for Johnny Bench Award
Courtesy: New Mexico State University  
Release:  05/17/2012

WICHITA, Kan. (May 17, 2012) - New Mexico State junior catcher Zac Fisher was named one of 12 semifinalists for the 2012 Johnny Bench Award presented by BaseballSavings.com as announced by the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission yesterday.

The initial watch list started with 43 catchers from across the nation in NCAA Division I baseball and is now down to 12. Fisher, is one of two catchers from the Western Athletic Conference to be on the list with the other being Sacramento State's Derrick Chung.

Fisher leads the Aggies with a .360 batting average (73-of-203) heading into the final series of regular season play.  He has posted 17 doubles, five home runs and 54 RBI on the season and is hitting .346 in WAC play.

Fisher was named to the 2012 National Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) and the College Sports Madness Baseball Preseason All-American Teams after a stellar sophomore season.  He was a 2011 second team All-WAC selection as a designated hitter and an American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) All-Midwest Region selection after leading the team with a .398 batting average and 68 hits.  His batting average ranked 20th in the nation and his 71 RBI ranked 76th nationally.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 4, 2012. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 15th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 28, 2012.

The Johnny Bench Award semifinalists are (in alphabetical order):

Derrick Chung, Sacramento State;

Zachary Fisher, New Mexico State;

Tucker Frawley, Coastal Carolina;

Mitchell Garver, New Mexico;

Tyler Heineman, UCLA;

Joe Hudson, Notre Dame;

Jeremy Lucas, Indiana State;

Josh Ludy, Baylor;

Jeff Melillo, Rutgers;

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue;

Jeremy Schaffer, Tulane and

Mike Zunino, Florida.

Previous winners were:                    

2011   Jake Lowery, James Madison University

2010   Bryan Holaday, Texas Christian University

2009   J.T. Wise, University of Oklahoma

2008   Buster Posey, Florida State University

2007   Edward Easley, Mississippi State University

2006   Jake Smith, East Carolina University

2005   Jeff Clement, University of Southern California

2004   Kurt Suzuki, Cal State  - Fullerton

2003   Ryan Garko, Stanford University

2002   Jeremy Brown, University of Alabama

2001   Kelly Shoppach, Baylor University

2000   Brad Cresse, Louisiana State University

‹ New Mexico State Baseball

Gear Up For Summer

Photo Galleries